RSS Feed

Breakfast Casserole, without the bread

Breakfast Casserole

Everyone loves the taste of those breakfast casserole recipes that start with soaking multiple slices of white bread in eggs and milk overnight.  You know the ones that people serve for holiday breakfasts and brunches.  But, who really needs to eat a bunch of low-nutrition highly-processed white bread?

A friend of mine, Janet, makes something similar, but hers deliciously makes up for the missing bread with a LOT of cheese, kind of like a breakfast crustless quiche.  When I say a lot of cheese, I am serious. So, I adapted and modified her recipe with some others online and came up with this which has I think a reasonable amount of cheese. 

Oh, the sausage I used was from that half of a local pig we bought a few weeks ago. It was a very mild sausage, not spicy at all, so I added a bit of cayenne pepper. Adjust the peppers to your preference based on how spicy your sausage is. There is even a recipe on my blog here for mixing up your own breakfast sausage if you have access to good ground pork…my recipe is for a much spicier pork sausage.

It was a BIG hit with both Mike and the girls this weekend.  Feel free to change out the veggies or better yet, add more, maybe some sautéed spinach?

Breakfast Casserole with Mushrooms & Onions

  • 1 pound bulk sausage
  • 3-4 green onions, chopped
  • 4-6 mushrooms, chopped
  • 8 large eggs
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/8 cup half & half or milk
  • 1/8 teaspoon (or more) cayenne pepper
  • 1/8 teaspoon black pepper
  • 2 cup colby jack or mild cheddar cheese, shredded

1. Preheat oven to 350 F and lightly grease an 8×8 baking dish.
2. Brown sausage, remove grease if necessary. Mine didn’t make any.
3. Add onions and mushrooms to sausage until the mushrooms are cooked.
4. Mix together the eggs, salt, peppers, half and half, and cheese in a bowl.
5. Put sausage mixture in baking dish, then pour egg mixture on top and stir to combine.
6. Bake for 30-35 minutes or until eggs are cooked through.

-  Stacey

Note: Sick in bed today, so written and published completely from my phone. :-)

About feedingmytribe

Mom to four 6-year-olds. Trying to find my way through the confusing world of food and nutrition to provide my girls with a healthy start in life.

One response »

  1. I made this for a recent choir rehearsal carry-in breakfast. Large group, so I used a dozen eggs and a little more half and half than called for. Didn’t have everything, so as suggested I added other chopped fresh veggies I had on hand-spinach, a large sweet onion, and half each of large red and orange bell peppers. Sauted all the veggies on med-high in the sausage after it was lightly browned, adding them by degree of cooking needed-onion first, then peppers, lastly spinach. My on-hand cheeses were a provolone-moz mix, plus a little left over parm-a bit under the 2 cups.Baked in a 10.5 X 8.75 casserol dish for a couple extra minutes. Turned out well despite all the tinkering, but it did fall a little during the 20-minute drive-that’s just what cooked eggs do. Light and fluffy right out of the oven, though! Pretty and healthy with all the veggie colors and some leaner country sausage from the local market. I would add some sharp cheddar and hot pepper white cheese for my taste and a little extra zip and color next time. I plan to serve this again Christmas morning. I think it will be a snap to cook the veggie and meat mix the night before to save time. Thanks for sharing, Stacey!

    Reply

Please leave a reply for Feeding My Tribe.

