RSS Feed

Welcome to my blog – Feeding my Tribe

Picture of my daughters at a soccer game

Welcome.  My name is Stacey and I have become increasingly interested in food and nutrition especially as it relates to children over the last few years.  There are several reasons for that, but the primary ones are:

  • Most of my adult life, I have been overweight.  I have been off and on just about every diet without much long-term success.
  • I am the mom of four daughters, triplets from IVF and one we were in the process of adopting when the IVF worked.
  • As is the case with most parents, I want my kids to be happy and healthy.  So, I do not want them to deal with obesity from both a health and happiness perspective.
  • My job is in academia in a program that is focused on environmental issues and how they relate to individuals and cultures.  This has exposed me to literature on “green” food, pesticides, sustainability, local foods, etc.

I have been doing lots of reading and contemplating and applying to our lives of what I have learned since about the Fall of 2008.  So, I am somewhat along in this journey.  This area can be very confusing because even among those people who care about nutrition, there are vastly different views on what is healthy.  On top of that you have all the mis-information being fed to you literally by the food producers and it can be very hard for the average parent to navigate.

One of the first books I read when I started this journey was “In Defense of Food” by Michael Pollan and I still think that is a great place to start.  Check it out yourself.

So, come along with me on my journey.  Bon Appetit.

– Stacey

About feedingmytribe

Mom to four 10-year-olds. Trying to find my way through the confusing world of food and nutrition to provide my girls with a healthy start in life.

One response »

  1. THANK YOU!!!!!

    Reply

Please leave a reply for Feeding My Tribe.

