RSS Feed

Tonight’s Dinner – Barbacoa Mexicana in the Crockpot

Quick post…

Saturday night we went to a local restaurant, Pepe Delgado’s, and the special was Barbacoa Mexicana.  I had never had it and was in the process of ordering off the regular menu when I saw a waiter walk by with a plate.  It looked delicious.  The cashier confirmed that it was the special, so I got that.  It was great, so of course I had to find a way to make it myself.  Also, for those of you that are Paleo, it looked like it would fit the bill.  Vegetarians, sorry, not for you.  😦

Found crockpot recipes at http://www.grouprecipes.com/77444/slow-cooker-barbacoa-shredded-beef.html and http://www.dadcooksdinner.com/2009/03/slow-cooker-beef-barbacoa.html and kind of combined them. So, I will let you know how it turned out tomorrow.  In the meantime, here is a picture from when I had just assembled it in the crockpot this morning…

Barbacoa Mexicana in the Crockpot

Barbacoa Mexicana in the Crockpot

Results…two thumbs up from the kids. Not the same as the restaurant’s, but good.

About feedingmytribe

Mom to four 10-year-olds. Trying to find my way through the confusing world of food and nutrition to provide my girls with a healthy start in life.

One response »

  1. Very interested in this recipe…can’t wait to read your review!!!

    Reply

Please leave a reply for Feeding My Tribe.

