RSS Feed

Chicken Stuffed with Goat Cheese and Red Pepper Tapenade – Tonight’s Dinner!

Chicken Stuffed with Goat Cheese and Red Pepper TapenadeI bought a large pack of chicken breast the other day that I still had over half of left and also had some goat cheese in the fridge that I needed to use, so I started looking for a yummy and healthy recipe that combined them both.  Since I also wanted to include a veggie and like spinach, I threw that term into the search as well.  I came across the recipe for “Chicken Stuffed with Goat Cheese and Red Pepper Tapenade” at the Whole Food Market website and decided that is what is for dinner.  I had gotten some locally-grown peaches and new potatoes at the Farmer’s Market on Saturday, so those are the sides.

Basically, you wilt the spinach in some olive oil, thyme (I only had dried so used a bit less), a Ready to roll up the chickenSpinach and Red Pepper Fillingschopped shallot and chopped garlic.   Then you chop and mix together the roasted red peppers, Kalamata olives, capers, and some balsamic vinegar.  Pound your chicken breasts flat and then layer the spinach mixture, pepper mixture, and goat cheese inside, roll up and bake.

Here is the result after slicing:

Chicken Stuffed with Goat Cheese and Red Pepper Tapenade on platter

I liked it a lot and so did Mike.  Three of the girls thought it was “very good”, but Leah thought it was “just OK”.  It is kind of a lot of work to make, but I will probably make it again sometime soon.

And for dessert, homemade grape juice popsicles.  I recently found a popsicle mold that makes small popsicles (only 2 oz. each) which is a good size for the kids.  Mixed 1/2 cup plain yogurt with 1 1/2 cups of 100% grape juice and poured in molds.  These were kid-approved by all four!

Grape Juice Popsicle

– Stacey

About feedingmytribe

Mom to four 10-year-olds. Trying to find my way through the confusing world of food and nutrition to provide my girls with a healthy start in life.

Please leave a reply for Feeding My Tribe.

