RSS Feed

Nut Butter Pancakes with Bananas and Flax Seed…

Nut Butter PancakesI felt like making pancakes for the girls this morning, but as I wanted some too and have been trying to reduce the amount of grains I eat, I decided to make “Nut Butter Pancakes”.  There are lots of recipes for them all over the web, but the one I started with and then massively changed the proportions on was this one at PaleoMama.  The point of nut butter pancakes is to avoid grains (something you want to do if you have celiac’s disease, are gluten sensitive, or are trying to eat paleo/primal/low-carb, etc.)  The recipe below uses bananas, but I also saw recipes online that used unsweetened applesauce instead.

Here is my recipe for Nut Butter Pancakes with Bananas and Flax Seed (makes 8 pancakes):

1 ripe banana
3 Tbsp nut butter of your choice (I used natural peanut butter, yes, I know, not paleo, but we like it)
1/4 cup ground flax seeds
Dash of sea salt (may not be needed if your nut butter already has salt in it)
1 tsp real vanilla extract
3 eggs
1 Tbsp honey (optional, I did not use since we put honey on them at the table)
Oil of your choice to grease the pan (I used peanut oil to coordinate with the nut butter)

Mash the banana with a fork or pasNut Butter Pancakes Ingredientstry blender in a large bowl; Julia helped me with this step 🙂  Add the ground flax seeds, salt, nut butter, vanilla, eggs, and honey and stir to mix well. Spray pan with oil. Note: I used my Misto so all I get is oil, no unnecesNut Butter Pancakes in Pansary chemicals like in cooking spray. Heat pan over medium heat.  Use the 1/4 cup measure you got messy earlier measuring your flax-seed to scoop and measure out batter and pour  into pan.  Avoid crowding them as that makes it more difficult to flip.   These will not get little bubbles on them when they are ready to flip like regular pancakes, so, when the edges are brown, flip.  Cook on other side for another couple of minutes.  Enjoy!

Nut Butter Pancakes Finished

All four of the kids liked them.  I will be making this again.  We each enjoyed one pancake along with 1/2 cup of plain yogurt with honey, and fresh raspberries.  I ran the recipe through the CalorieCount Recipe Analyzer and the nutritional information per pancake is:

About feedingmytribe

Mom to four 10-year-olds. Trying to find my way through the confusing world of food and nutrition to provide my girls with a healthy start in life.

One response »

  1. This looks like a very tasty recipe. Thanks for sharing, I really enjoyed reading today’s post.

    I love sharing recipes also. I believe everyone can enjoy them. Also you can get our recipes on Twitter

    Try This Pasta Dinner Recipe

    Reply

Please leave a reply for Feeding My Tribe.

