RSS Feed

Kevin’s Oatmeal Whole Wheat Pancakes

Kevin's Oatmeal Whole Wheat Pancakes

Kevin's Oatmeal Whole Wheat Pancakes

Back in May when I posted about out breakfasts, I promised you a pancake recipe using oatmeal.  So, here it is.

I got this recipe from Kevin from our church and he got it from his sister.  Not sure where she got it from.  But, he made them at a VBS teacher’s breakfast and they were great, so I got the recipe.  I have made them several times and they are quite easy and all whole grain.  What I like about it is that it has more oats than flour and all the flour used is whole wheat.  I typically use whole wheat pastry flour.

He made the banana variety and that is also the one I have made most.  The natural sweetness of the bananas is enough so you don’t need any other sweetener, but if making plain, you might want to put in a small amount of honey or maple syrup.  Or just serve with honey or maple syrup.  (the real stuff, not HFCS junk).  You could always add any other fruit such as blueberries or perhaps nuts such as pecans, if you so desire.

The kids and I also like the gingerbread variety a lot.  Cut back on the spices if you like your gingerbread less intense.  Another variation that I have not tried yet would be to add about 1-2 teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice and a 1/2 cup of canned pumpkin.

Kevin’s Oatmeal Whole Wheat Pancakes

2 cups rolled oats (I used old-fashioned oats)
2 & 1/4 cups milk (try just 2 cups first and add more if needed)
4 eggs (slightly scrambled)
1 Tablespoon oil (I use peanut or coconut oil, but use your favorite)
1 cup whole wheat flour (I use whole wheat pastry flour)
1 Tablespoon baking powder (use aluminum-free, like Rumford)

Put oats and milk in a bowl and let soak at least 5 minutes, 10 to 15 minutes is better.  Then, mix in the rest of the ingredients.  Heat a lightly oiled pan and make whatever size pancakes you like.

Kevin's Oatmeal Whole Wheat Pancakes on plate

Kevin's Oatmeal Whole Wheat Pancakes on plate

Variations to basic recipe – add to wet batter with rest of ingredients:

* Add some unsweetened applesauce and cinnamon to taste

OR

* Add 1-2 mashed bananas and some cinnamon to taste (our favorite!)

OR

* Add 1/3 cup molasses and 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1 tsp. ginger and 1/2 tsp. cloves for gingerbread pancakes

This recipe makes about 15-20 small pancakes (approximately 4″-5″ diameter). They freeze well and heat up well in the microwave.  I usually make a lot at one time and we get 2-3 breakfasts off the batch.

About feedingmytribe

Mom to four 10-year-olds. Trying to find my way through the confusing world of food and nutrition to provide my girls with a healthy start in life.

Please leave a reply for Feeding My Tribe.

