RSS Feed

Kale Chips with Dragon Cheese

  • Baked Kale ChipsI have posted about kale chips before. They are a great way to get some healthy greens into your kids, they are crunchy like a chip, they are cheap and easy to make, and they are yummy. What is not to like?

OK, your kitchen does smell like greens cooking while they are in the oven, but there had to be a downside and thankfully, it is something minor.  But, the price can’t be beat, I paid $1.09 for my bunch of kale last night and I often see a bunch for 99 cents.Bunch of Kale

When I posted about kale chips back in May, I used the recipe from Smitten Kitchen. But, I found that my chips were a bit uneven in their cooking, some were a little overdone and some were a little soft still.  I tweaked the temperature, time, and amount of oil to get a better product, a least in my ancient oven.

Baked Kale Chips

  • 1 bunch (about 6 ounces) kale
  • 1-3 tsp olive oil (or any oil you prefer, I used pecan oil this time)
  • Sea salt, to taste

Removing Kale Leaves from the Ribs

Preheat oven to 250°F.  Rip all the leaves off the kale ribs in large pieces (about 1″- 2″ squares) and rinse and dry the kale. Note: This is a great job to give one of the kids to get them involved in cooking!  I used my salad spinner for this to get at much water off as possible; you do not want your kale soggy and water-logged as it will take a lot longer to crisp in the oven. Toss kale with oil in a large bowl making sure to cover all the surfaces.  It is not a lot of oil, but it needs to be very well-distributed. The kale should glisten, not look greasy and soggy with oil.

Then, sprinkle with sea salt to taste. Arrange kale leaves in a single layer on a large baking sheet  or two small ones like mine. I also lined mine with sil-pat sheets for easy clean-up but you could also use parchment paper.

Raw Kale in Pans

Raw Kale in Pans

Bake for 30-40 minutes, or until crisp with no soft parts.  As they cook, gently shake the pans a bit every 10 minutes or so for even drying.  Place baking sheet on a rack to cool.

Kale Chip Close-up

Kale Chip Close-up

Baked Kale Chips

Baked Kale Chips

I had an email last time from Kendra, one of my husband’s colleagues, about what she sprinkles on kale chips for her kids…Dragon Cheese powder. She also sent me a recipe for it. So, I made up a batch, sprinkled it on the chips when I added the salt before baking, and it was a hit. I have also sprinkled it on homemade popcorn. It has a salty, nutty, perhaps slightly cheesy taste.

The recipe is originally for making a vegan cheese sauce, but I just used the powder as a topping…have not tried making it into a sauce since we are not vegan and thus can have real cheese when we want it. Kendra noted that the recipe as given makes a LOT, so I cut it in half and I still have a pretty big jar of the stuff. I also used a food processor, not a blender and after grinding the nuts, I just added everything else into the bowl and gave it a few pulses to blend. Here is her recipe:

Dragon Cheese Sauce
(recipe from Kendra)

Dragon Cheese

Dragon Cheese powder in jar

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups raw cashew pieces
  • 2 cups either Red Star or Vegetarian Support nutritional yeast (NOT the same as yeast for making bread)
  • 3 tbsp seasoned salt
  • 3 tbsp garlic powder (NOT garlic salt)
  • 3 tbsp of onion powder (NOT onion salt)
  • 8 tbsp of either arrowroot or cornstarch powder.  (For making the sauce, the arrowroot makes it “stringy” unlike the cornstarch.  Since I am not making sauce with it, I used cornstarch.)

Directions: Using a VERY dry blender or food processor, blend the nuts till they are very fine. Then, blend in batches of about 1 cup and then mix in a dry container. You can keep this tightly covered in the frig for about 6 weeks.

To make up, add one heaping 1/2 cup of mix to 1 cup of water and stir over heat till thickened. Use less water and add salsa for queso dip. Pour over hot veggies and/or pasta. Spread on vegan bread and toast for grilled uncheeses.

– Stacey

About feedingmytribe

Mom to four 10-year-olds. Trying to find my way through the confusing world of food and nutrition to provide my girls with a healthy start in life.

One response »

  1. You have the cutest assistant chefs! I may try the kale chips—I’ve heard kale is very bitter. No bitter taste with the chips?

    Reply

Please leave a reply for Feeding My Tribe.

