RSS Feed

Fast & Easy Fruit Sorbet

Fruit SorbetAs we were finishing dinner tonight I said “Hey kids, who wants sorbet for dessert?”  There was a round of “I do!” and less than 15 minutes later, we were all enjoying a bowl of mixed fruit sorbet.

You can make sorbet using your ice cream maker or your freezer and wait for hours, but this is the fastest and easiest way I have found.  And you can make it with any unsweetened fruit that you can find frozen in a bag in your grocery store, something we always keep a variety of on hand for smoothies.

I first saw this technique for sorbet back in the late 1990’s on a show that I really enjoyed on the Food Network called “COOKING LIVE with Sara Moulton”.  She actually cooked an entire meal in 30 minutes on LIVE TV, while taking questions by phone from viewers.  She did this several nights a week.  Anyway, on one of her shows, she made this sorbet using mixed berries, but you can use any frozen fruit.  In her recipe, she used some sugar to taste, but I use a bit of honey.  I have since seen Mark Bittman make sorbet the same way.  So here it is:

Fruit Sorbet

Frozen Dole Mixed Fruit
Frozen Fruit

Ingredients:

  • Bag of any frozen fruit
  • 1-2 Tablespoons milk (optional)
  • 1-3 teaspoons of honey (to your taste)

Instructions:
Place frozen fruit and optional honey and milk in a food processor and process until smooth.  Serve immediately, or place in freezer until ready to use. This recipe yields 6 servings.

Note:  The milk is just to make the processor run better as it doesn’t run well dry.  You can just let your fruit sit out for a while and partially defrost instead.   Or, instead of milk, you can use water, cream, half/half, yogurt, or any fruit juice such as orange, apple, lime, or lemon.

THIS IS SO EASY!!

The fruit I used today was the “Mixed Fruit” from Dole which consists of strawberries,  pineapple, mango, and peaches.  But, I have made it with mixed berries, or just one single frozen fruit.  You can really use any combination of fruits you can think of.  Mike, the girls and I all loved it… as usual.

– Stacey

Fruit Sorbet

About feedingmytribe

Mom to four 10-year-olds. Trying to find my way through the confusing world of food and nutrition to provide my girls with a healthy start in life.

One response »

  1. Love, love LOVE this idea! My daughter, mom, dad and I all enjoy smoothies but it’s never occurred to me to use the bag of frozen fruit for sorbet! I know we’ll love it!

    Reply

Please leave a reply for Feeding My Tribe.

