RSS Feed

Scalloped Eggplant – updated version of something I grew up eating

1950s HomemakerAs we are trying to eat more veggies, both in volume and variety, I am reaching back into my past for recipes.  My mom used to make this dish from “The Betty Furness Westinghouse Cook Book” back when I was a kid.  I will mention that the book was published in the 50s, but I grew up in the 70s, I am not that old.  🙂

I updated it a bit by substituting the shortening and white bread crumbs it originally called for and upping the eggs a bit for more protein.  Feel free to cut the butter a bit if that is something you restrict. Assuming you eat eggs, this recipe is also vegetarian.

It may seem odd, but we have always served this with a bit of tomato ketchup squirted on top at the table; Hunt’s is a common brand that is HFCS-free.  Muir Glen and Organicville also make ones that are rated higher on healthiness. If you want to use a better ketchup, hit your local health food store for one of those.

So, if you have a shelf full of really old cookbooks like I do, go back and take a look at some of them.  After laughing at all the concealed salad recipes and the casseroles that depend on canned soup, see if some of the other recipes can be modified. Back in the 30s, 40s and 50s there was less of a dependence on processed foods and most familes actually cooked real food and sat down to eat together every night.

Scalloped EggplantWestinghouse Cook Book
(adapted from “The Betty Furness Westinghouse Cook Book” by Julia Kiene, 1954)

  • 1 large or 2 smaller eggplants
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 medium onion, finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup melted butter (or coconut oil)
  • 1/2 cup whole-wheat bread crumbs (I ground up a leftover Nature’s Own 100% whole-wheat hot dog bun)
  • 3 organic eggs, beaten
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/8 tsp freshly ground pepper
  • Extra buttered whole-wheat cracker crumbs for garnish (I used Ak-Mak whole-wheat crackers)

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees F.  Peel and cube eggplant.  Cook in pot in water until tender; drain and cool.  Mix onion, butter, crumbs, eggs, salt and pepper in large bowl.  Add eggplant and mix well.  Pour it all into a greased casserole dish.  Sprinkle with extra buttered crumbs. Bake in oven for 25 to 30 minutes. Serves 8-10 as a side dish.

Scalloped EggplantI love this dish, but I even ate it as a kid, so I do like eggplant.  Mike hates eggplants and refuses to eat them, so he didn’t even taste this.  The kids all ate theirs.  Two really liked it and had seconds; the other two just ate their first serving.  So, we have enough leftover for another meal.

– Stacey

Scallop Eggplant on table

About feedingmytribe

Mom to four 10-year-olds. Trying to find my way through the confusing world of food and nutrition to provide my girls with a healthy start in life.

2 responses »

  1. “Mike hates eggplants” sounds like a challenge to me 🙂

    Reply
  2. I love eggplant and am always looking for ways to make it more appealing to MY tribe! My parents and I love it and will eat it in ratatouille and parmigiana; my husband and kids prefer not to touch it. I can’t wait to try this recipe–I’ve started seeing my kids’ tastes change, especially with more exposure to vegetables. The other thing you mentioned that I think is so valuable is those old 50s and 60s cookbooks our mothers used for basic recipes. I regularly involve my children in cooking and it helps to read the recipe of a simple white sauce or a basic baked chicken. I have a Betty Crocker cookbook and a Better Homes and Gardens cookbook that I pull out for basics, and they’re wonderful for getting basic ideas and teaching basic skills.

    Reply

Please leave a reply for Feeding My Tribe.

