RSS Feed

Laundry tip for messy cooks like me…

I am a bit of a messy cook and since I rarely wear an apron, quite often I find grease and other stains on my clothes after cooking.  These were always annoying, especially since they were often still there after washing the clothes.

Recently, I came across a hint that works to get those stains out, even if you don’t find them until after the garment has already been washed and dried once.  Just put a bit of regular liquid dishwashing soap (the kind for the sink, not the dishwasher) on the stain, allow to sit for at least 5-10 minutes and then wash as usual…no more grease stain.

I had seen this tip saying to use Dawn dish soap, but I have been using Seventh Generation and that works fine as well, so probably any brand would work.  I have read (but not tried) that you can even use shampoo.  Dish soap is designed to “cut grease” and it works even on your clothes.

– Stacey

About feedingmytribe

Mom to four 10-year-olds. Trying to find my way through the confusing world of food and nutrition to provide my girls with a healthy start in life.

2 responses »

  1. Good tip!!! Thanks! Cause I don’t wear an apron either…and I tend to find “surprises” on my shirts too.

    Reply
  2. Makes sense. Thanks for the information.
    I am a grandmother of four browsing the web for sites featuring laundry detergent coupons. Led me to your laundry tag.
    Glad to be able to leave a “post”. wonderful blog. cheers.

    Reply

Please leave a reply for Feeding My Tribe.

