RSS Feed

More beany treats – Garbanzo Bean Blondies

I hope you all liked the recent Black Bean Brownies post and recipe.  I decided to try making blondies using garbanzo beans, AKA chickpeas. But, you probably could use just about any white bean for this.

I went to lots of sources for white bean blondies recipes and some of the recipes that inspired mine are at Meal Makover Moms, Struggle Muffins, The Blissful Baker, The Runny Egg, Peanut Butter Lover, and Professional Palate.  So, I came up with a recipe I had planned to make using peanut butter, chocolate chips and nuts.

But, I was chatting last night with one of the other soccer moms at the soccer skills camp our girls were attending and she mentioned that she likes to add lemon zest and dried cranberries to her sugar cookies.  I had been thinking of using some dried fruit in the blondies so I went with that flavor combination of lemon and cranberry instead.  This may not be the traditional butterscotchy blondie, but it is good.

When I first thought of making blondies, I had planned to just used chocolate chips and nuts, but when I changed to cranberries, I decided to use the white chocolate chips again and for my nut butter in the recipe, I used almond butter.  So, I am going to give you two recipes…the one I made and the one I planned to make, but didn’t.  I will probably try it in the future.

Garbanzo Bean Blondies – with peanut butter, chocolate chips, and nuts
(makes 16 2″x2″ blondies)

  • 1 can chickpeas AKA garbanzos, drained and rinsed (about 1.5 cups)
  • 1 medium banana
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 Tbsp honey or maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 2-4 Tbsp natural creamy peanut butter
  • 1 tsp real vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp aluminum-free baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp sea salt
  • 1/4 cup ground flax seed or oat flour
  • 1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans or walnuts

Garbanzo Bean Blondies – with almond butter, white chocolate chips, and dried cranberries
(makes 16 2″x2″ blondies)

  • 1 can chickpeas AKA garbanzos, drained and rinsed (about 1.5 cups)
  • 1 medium banana
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 Tbsp honey
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar (I used Sugar in the Raw)
  • 4 Tbsp natural creamy almond butter
  • 1 tsp real vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp aluminum-free baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp lemon oil (use lemon zest instead, if you have it)
  • 1/8 tsp sea salt
  • 1/4 cup ground flax seed
  • 1/2 cup white chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup chopped dried cranberries (I used Craisins brand since I had it on had, but it is sweetened)

Directions for both  versions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and grease an 8×8 inch baking pan; I use my MISTO oil sprayer.  Place drained chickpeas in a food processor and blend until smooth.  Add the banana and eggs and process until smooth again.  Add all the rest of the ingredients (except chocolate chips and nuts) to the food processor and process until completely smooth. Stir in chocolate chips and nuts.  Scrape batter into prepared pan and spread evenly.  Bake in preheated oven for 35-40 minutes. Do not overbake.

The girls all liked these Craisin blondies, but I don’t think they are quite as decadent as the previous chocolatey brownies, but it has nothing to do with the beans, just the lack of lots of chocolate.  🙂  I used 1/2 cup of Craisins, but that may have actually been too much, the cranberry taste was a little stronger than I would have like, so will probably reduce the cranberries to 1/3 or even 1/4 cup next time.  If you are going to make it with a less assertive dried fruit such as apricots or raisins then you may want to use the full 1/2 cup.  Also, I actually used more like 1.5 bananas in mine because that is what I had leftover from dinner, but it made the batter a little wetter than I liked, so if it looks too moist in the pictures, that is why.

– Stacey

About feedingmytribe

Mom to four 10-year-olds. Trying to find my way through the confusing world of food and nutrition to provide my girls with a healthy start in life.

3 responses »

  1. Oh yum, what a great sounding recipe! Delicious!

    Reply
  2. White choc chips and dried cranberries?! Drool.

    Reply
  3. Okay OKAY this is the SECOND SWEET recipe I have seen today that uses Gar. beans!
    Thats AWESOME
    I am SO intrigued.
    –bB

    http://www.itsybitsybrianna.wordpress.com

    Reply

Please leave a reply for Feeding My Tribe.

