RSS Feed

Jalapeno Garlic Tilapia over Angel Hair Pasta

Girl with Jalapeno Garlic TilapiaThere is a yummy fish and pasta dish at Johnny Carino’s restaurant called “Jalapeño Garlic Tilapia”.  They describe it as: Tilapia sautéed in lemon butter cream sauce. Served with garlic, spinach, roma tomatoes and angel hair.

We don’t eat out a much as we used to before we started to improve our diet. So, we haven’t been to this restaurant in a year or more.  So, I looked around for a recipe to make this dish myself and hopefully increase the veggies and improve the other ingredients.  I started with a recipe I found at food.com and tweaked it a good bit.

I made this for dinner Saturday evening just before the big Alabama-LSU game…ROLL TIDE!  Emma was my kitchen helper.  She de-stemmed the spinach for me.

I actually used flounder instead of tilapia because I found wild-caught flounder at the store and all the tilapia was farmed.  Use whatever white fish you like best.

I list the amount of pasta that is recommended in other recipes, but I will honestly say that we only used about 2/3 of it.So, for my own family, I will decrease the amount of angel hair next time.  But, if you are big pasta lovers, go with the full 10 oz.

I worried that the kids would think the jalapeño was too spicy, but since I used canned ones, it wasn’t.  If you are just cooking for adults, I would either use fresh peppers for more kick or up the amount of jalapeño.  Emma and Sarah and I loved it.  Julia liked it.  Leah like everything but the fish part, although the fish is very mild, so I don’t know why.  🙂

Jalapeño Garlic Tilapia
Serves 4 with very generous adult servings, more servings if you are serving kids
  • 10 oz. whole wheat angel hair pasta
  • 2-3 Tbsp melted butter or olive oil
  • 4 (4-oz.) tilapia fillets, or other white fish such as flounder
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 2 tsp finely chopped garlic
  • 1/2 cup canned diced jalapeño peppers
  • 4 cups de-stemmed fresh spinach
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 1/8 tsp freshly ground black pepper
  • 8 oz. half and half (or 4 oz. heavy cream + 4 oz. milk)
  • 3 Tbsp butter
  • 2 tsp lemon juice
  • 1 tsp crushed garlic
  • 1 Tbsp fresh parsley, chopped
  • 1/2 cup diced roma tomato
All the ingredients

All the ingredients, including my kitchen helper

  1. Prepare the angel hair pasta according to package directions.
  2. Melt butter in medium temperature sauté pan.
  3. Dredge the fish filets in the flour, and add them with the garlic to the sauté pan.
  4. Once the fish has finished cooking on one side, flip them over and cook on other side.  Remove from pan.
  5. To the same sauté pan, add the jalapeño, spinach, salt, and pepper.
  6. When the spinach is wilted, add the half and half, and bring it to a slight boil.
  7. Return the fish to the pan with the sauce and spinach.
  8. Once the half and half begins to boil, remove the pan from the fire and melt butter, lemon juice, and additional garlic into the sauce.
  9. Place the pasta in a bowl, and pour the fish with the sauce over the pasta. Garnish with fresh tomatoes and parsley.

Since the dish itself includes protein, whole grains, and veggies, we just served it with some sliced raw apples to get some fruit in the meal.  In the picture below, I also added some shaved parmesan to my garnish.

– Stacey

Jalapeno Garlic Tilapia over Angel Hair Pasta

Jalapeno Garlic Tilapia over Angel Hair Pasta

About feedingmytribe

Mom to four 10-year-olds. Trying to find my way through the confusing world of food and nutrition to provide my girls with a healthy start in life.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Paleo Village - Make it Paleo - Book Review - Food Lovers, Mark Sisson, Paleo, Paleo Comfort Foods, Paleo Cookbook, Paleo Kitchen, Sauces Dressings, Side Dishes, Treats Cheats - | Paleo Village

Please leave a reply for Feeding My Tribe.

